Goran Konjevod

Rosenberg Library, 4th Floor Reference Case
September 27-December 13, 2013

 Goran Konjevod a

Goran Konjevod is both an artist and a computer scientist. His installation at the Rosenberg Library is an offshoot of his two person exhibition with John Whitehead in the City Arts Gallery in the City College of San Francisco Art Department during October of 2013.

In the artist’s own words:
In most of my works, I use the tension created in a sheet of paper by folding a sequence of pleats to create curvature and three-dimensional forms. Sometimes I can envision the final shape before I start folding, but just as often, the result comes through experimentation and improvisation. In the past year or so, I have also been using my paper forms as models for cast metal sculpture.

I was born and grew up in Croatia. After studying mathematics and computer science in Zagreb and Pittsburgh, I worked for ten years as Professor of Computer Science at Arizona State University. Since 2010 I’ve been living and working in the Bay Area. I’ve been exhibiting folded sculptures in galleries and museums since 2008.

Check out these ebooks on Origami through the CCSF Library:
(You’ll need the barcode on your student I.D.)

Origami Design Secrets : Mathematical Methods for an Ancient Art
Mathematical Explorations Through Paper Folding
Flexagons Inside Out

Leave a comment

Filed under City College Community

Leave a Reply

